Average Rating: 4.6 stars (based on 223 ratings)

Read the instructions

It works, let it sit a couple of minutes, I used pressure washer with this.

Amazon Customer
July 16, 2019

Super easy, worked great, and a fair price!

I decided to try a small triangular section of my twenty-two-year-old deck to see how this stuff worked. I probably had three or four coats of Behr stain that I needed to remove. I used the dosage it called for and soaked it with a garden sprayer as directed for 15 minutes. Since it was

Emma Customer
July 1, 2019

GOOD STRIPPER

Did a great job of removing Thompson’s water seal.

Larry W.
June 7, 2019

Did not work on log home

Did not work much at all on log home with several coats of stain. I found a product that does work but is super expensive. Strip-it from Permachink.

jason macdonald
April 9, 2019

Surprise, this product worked as advertised

I have a wood deck that is around 800 sq ft in size. It’s been over 10 years since I last stripped & refinished it, so the old stain had become very hard & difficult to remove. I had never heard of the Woodrich brand, but it had decent reviews, so I decided to give

Lou B
March 30, 2019

Doesn’t work!

Doesn’t work!

Amazon Customer
March 6, 2019

The rave reviews are correct

I have used Olympic Deck Cleaner for decades and sworn by it, but now after 30 years Lowe’s has dumped Olympic in favor of Valspar, so I decided to try the canister of HD-80 that’s been sitting around… Wow. Until this use, I rolled my eyes at Woodrich’s claims that HD-80 strips old deck sealer.

JonBoy
October 8, 2018

This stuff worked pretty well to strip the stain off my deck

This stuff worked pretty well to strip the stain off my deck. Just be careful and wear PPE! It is caustic, and getting it on your skin is rough!

Amazon Customer
September 7, 2018

Tjhis product works!!!

I have a 23 year old dock. Has been stained and recoated on average every 3 years. In the past stripping was a nightmare!! This product WORKS. but word of advice on removing a decent old stain lightly dampen and most importantly KEEP damp then mix product at the highest recommended ratios. Let set for

Billy O.
August 22, 2018

It works as advertised. Finally!

As a professional architect I am trained to research, test and verify before I specify a product for myself or a client. I tried other big box products on 4-year old Olympic stain and after two applications I gave up and decided there had to be something better. (The other product started with a Z).

Abilene
August 21, 2018

This stripper worked better than I expected

This stripper worked better than I expected. I had a deck with solid stain on it. I wanted to use a semitransparent stain on it but was told I would have to sand the existing stain off first. I purchased this stripper and it removed almost all of the solid stain. I did have to

Amazon Customer
June 13, 2018

Five Stars

GOOD STUFF

GFDS LLC
June 12, 2018

Peels stain and skin

This is an excellent product. It will peels stain or whatever you want off of wood without any effort really. WEAR YOUR PPE. I had the acid run down my arm and rinsed it immediately. It blistered and burned for a few weeks. Have baking soda and cold water handy. If the dry crystal gets

Just a Normal Family
June 1, 2018

I was disappointed that on some of the wood it didn’t do…

I tried 3 different times allowing the stripper to sit on the wood for as long as 45 minutes. I used a power washer but the stain that was on the wood would not completely come off. I was disappointed that on some of the wood it didn’t do anything.I am now sanding the complete

Donald T.
May 15, 2018

Great Product

We are preparing our house siding for re-staining. This product is great.

Former teacher
April 20, 2018

Did not work for me.

The product didn’t seem to have any effect what-so-ever on my deck. I increased the recommended strength significantly, with no improvement in it’s performance. Interestingly, the stuff generates heat when mixing at high concentrations but, unless you are trying to keep your hands warm by hugging the dispensing container, this ‘stripper’ seems to be a

Aardvark
April 6, 2018

Doesn’t work at the recommended concentrations or significantly higher concentrations.

Only slightly more effective at removing deck paint than letting mother nature work at it for 30 years. Waste of money and effort.

Linda C. Piet
March 15, 2018

Best product I have used on pre stained dirty cedar

Best product I have used on pre stained dirty cedar. Cleaned it right up. Then followed up with the Woodrich Wood brightner and Neutralizer.

bryan
February 25, 2018

excellent

easy to use and does a great job of removing old stain

Carolyn Gaab Bronson
October 5, 2017

ITS NOT MEANT FOR DECKOVER OR SOLID STAINS

For those of you commenting that this product doesn’t work on Deck Over or painted surfaces you are correct. The only thing that will remove Deck Over is sanding it off. That stuff is garbage, once it starts peeling your in for a huge cost to remove it. I am a contractor for deck restoration,

Mike
September 19, 2017

Did not work

Did nothing to strip the stain off of my deck. Thankfully I was able to return it.

Paul F Estes
September 17, 2017

This stuff doesn’t really work that great on colored stains

This stuff doesn’t really work that great on colored stains! I thought, because it said it would take off several layers of paint, that it would work great on stain – NO. It is very, very watery and it basically runs right off from the stained area before it can start working.

Julie K
September 9, 2017

Four Stars

It worked great.

Terese Clusiau
September 1, 2017

This stuff works!

I had four very old 6-panel oak doors that had been stained dark walnut. I wanted to them refinish them with a golden oak color. I had them dipped to remove the polyurethane, but the dark stain was still there. I spent 4 hours sanding one side of one door and was just about ready

Jane
July 18, 2017

starsDid try it on cement and didn’t have as good of luck though

This worked amazingly well on my old deck. Worth every penny! Did try it on cement and didn’t have as good of luck though.

Amazon Customer
July 18, 2017

Don’t Use on Behr Products

This is a great product. My problem was I had a horrible stain on my deck. This product, nor anything else, will effectively take off Behr semi transparent All In One Weatherproofing Stain. This stain is just plain nasty to get off and pretty much needs to be sanded off. This product is highly revered

Robert The Consumer
July 15, 2017

Great product Great customer service

Awesome product really works well. Using this to strip old stain from log home. Some spots are stubborn and need a second treatment. Customer service is wonderful they answered all of our questions with patience and were very informative and gave us some great advice. We mix it a little stronger than recommended so it

minnegirl
July 1, 2017

Highly recommended

Works well! Highly recommended:)

Sylwia Gryc
May 24, 2017

Not for SOLID colored stains!

This product DOES NOT work effectively on solid colored stain… However, am giving it 3 stars because the Manufacturer’s customer service was top-notch and took care of me. Also I have am certain (based on research) that this product WOULD work on semi-solid, semi-transparent, or transparent stains… it just does NOT work on SOLID colored

Fresno
November 29, 2016

Former contractor

It worked as well as I expected. It would have received 5 stars but for the work it actually requires to clean the deck. I was a painting contractor for 24 years and did many decks. I do not recommend using a power washer after applying this material. I guarantee you will gouge the wood

T. Nash
September 15, 2016

Best stuff ever

This stuff liquifies the old finish in less than a minute. I couldn’t believe it. Best stuff ever. My deck is 600 sq ft and I only used a couple batches to do it all. The bucket will last many years. Great stuff.

CMac
September 9, 2016

Doesn’t work on Deckover

Bought this to strip Behr Deckover we placed on our back deck three years ago. The deckover is blistering and peeling but this product has no effect on it. Don’t waste your money. We’re replacing the boards.

Bill
August 4, 2016

Five Stars

Worked great

GLENN G
July 4, 2016

Don’t waste your money

This product barely removed the stain I had on my deck. If you had a very very thin layer of stain it may work OK. I ended up buying JoMax from Lowe’s and it did a great job!

K-Dog
May 24, 2016

Add Testimonial

What is your full name?
A headline for your testimonial.
What do you think about us?